Sunday, February 10, 2013

Check the Color of Your Mind

We wear different colors of clothes on different occasions. Our office clothes are sober colored, while on casual occasions we wear colored clothes of our own taste. Similarly on occasions of attending the funeral of someone. we prefer wearing white clothes as white color signifies peace. Hindu & Buddhist Holy men wear saffron clothes which signify renunciation. So different colors have different significance.

Have you ever wondered that just like the color of clothes we wear on our body, we are having a color of our own mind also. We all think & work through our mind. We all have our emotions toward others in our mind. Emotions of love, compassion are in our mind & emotions of jealousy, greed etc. too are in our mind. All the good & bad qualities in your mind makes the "Nature of your mind" & nature of your mind determines your personality. Whatever good or bad Karmas you do that is going to make your personality.

Now as per the qualities of your mind, your nature can be either Good, Bad or mixed. Based on the qualities of your mind, a color can be assigned to your mind. Mind of Good natured, calm, Sattvic type of person can be assigned "WHITE" color. Mind of Passionate, impulsive, sensuous type of person can be assigned "RED" color. Mind of Lazy, egoistic, indolent type of person can be assigned "Black" color. Below are described the qualities of all types of people.

Qualities of people with "WHITE" color mind: These Saintly, Sattvic type of persons are normally calm, balanced in their nature. They generally do good to others & are selfless, un-egoistic persons. They generally give alms to the poor & never hurt anybody even with their speech. They are never angry with anybody & are always at peace with themselves. They never hanker after or are greedy of the material things of this world. They love everybody & everyone respect, love them.

Qualities of people with "RED" or “Blue” color mind: These type of people are passionate, impulsive, type of persons. They are generally bold and aggressive in their nature. They want to enjoy every type of food & want to enjoy all the physical pleasures of this world. They are at times very much angry in their nature. They have a greed to accumulate more money & material things in life. They think of themselves before others. They do all their actions most passionately.

Qualities of people with "SAFFRON" color mind: Saffron is the color of Sanyäsa, renunciation & also of illumination, the highest state of perfection. These type of people are having spiritual knowledge and humility. As it represents renunciation so many people of the color of Saffron mind are generally disinterestedness in the worldly affairs & also are not attached much to the people in this world. They are spiritual practicants, preachers, do-gooders of society.

Qualities of people with "BLACK" color mind: These type of people are lazy, egoistic, indolent type of persons. They enjoy more pleasure in sleep. They do their actions without thinking of what consequence it shall have. They generally have morbid thinking which is very harmful to their personality. These type of people live in ignorance & delusion only. Sometimes their morbid nature leads them to madness. In fact people with mind of black color believe that, whatever, wrong they are doing is right, while it is their perverted thinking only which makes them do wrong only, the consequence of which is misery only in their lives.

Now below is what Bhagwat Gita says about all such three type of people:

As per Bhagwat Gita, your nature in this material world are due to 3 qualities of Nature & those are "Sattva, Rajas & Tamas". Due to these three qualities of Nature only, one enjoys Joy & also suffer Pain in this life. In effect Nature is of dual characteristics & "Good & Bad", "Joy & Pain" etc. are both due to dual characteristics of this nature. The living entity in material nature enjoys the three modes of nature & it is due to his association with that material nature only that he meets with good and evil consequences in his/her lifetime. Now here below are the Bhagwat Gita verses which details about the three modes of nature and how an individual gets involved with these three modes of nature & enjoys happiness & suffers pain. Basically it explains Cause and Effect in Nature.

In Bhagwat Gita Lord Sri Krishna says to Arjuna :

"sattvam rajas tama iti
Gunnah prakriti-sambhavah
nibadhnanti maha-baho
dehe dehinam avyayam" - (Bhagwat Gita: Chapter Fourteen verse 5)

"Material nature consists of three modes—Goodness, Passion and Ignorance (Sattva, Rajas & Tamas). When an individual living entity comes in contact with nature, he becomes conditioned by these three modes."

"tatra sattvam nirmalatvat
prakasakam anamayam
sukha-sangena badhnati
jnana-sangena chanagha" - (Bhagwat Gita: Chapter Fourteen verse 6)

"The mode of Goodness, being purer than the other two, is illuminating, and it frees one from all sinful reactions. Those situated in that mode become conditioned by a sense of happiness and knowledge."

"rajo ragatmakam viddhi
tan nibadhnati kaunteya
karma-sangena dehinam" - (Bhagwat Gita: Chapter Fourteen verse 7)

"The mode of Passion is born of unlimited desires and longings, and because of this, the embodied living entity is bound to material fruit producing actions."

"tamas tv ajnana-jam viddhi
mohanam sarva-dehinam
tan nibadhnati bharata" - (Bhagwat Gita: Chapter Fourteen verse 8)

"Know that the mode of Darkness, born of ignorance, is the delusion of all
embodied living entities. The results of this mode are madness, indolence and sleep, which bind the conditioned soul."

"sattvam sukhe sanjayati
rajah karmani bharata
jnanam avrtya tu tamah
pramade sanjayaty uta" - (Bhagwat Gita: Chapter Fourteen verse 9)

"The mode of Goodness conditions one to happiness; Passion conditions one to fruit producing action & pain; and Ignorance, covering one’s knowledge, binds one to madness."

Now you have to see that in which of the above said modes of nature you are established. If you are doing good Karmas, helping others, living a pure life, having devotion to God, doing acts of sacrifice, charity etc. then you are living a Sattvic life & it frees one from all sinful reactions & gives a life of happiness.

If you live a passionate (Rajasic) life, addicted to sensuous pleasures of life then it shall give pain in life (physical & mental later on). Though sensuous pleasures look good at the time of it's enjoyment but ultimately it's consequence is pain only & it leads one to all painful reactions .

If you lead a lazy life, enjoys happiness in sleep, indolence etc. & are egoistic, avoid doing your duty; then you are living in delusion. All this arises of the nature of ignorance & in this case you are leading a Tamasic life. Such a life gives pain only always & lead one to utter delusion before & after.

So its all, what type of life you live & what type of Karmas you do. Sattvic life shall lead you to happiness only while Rajasic life shall lead you to Pain & Suffering while Tamasic life shall lead you to utter delusion & shall ruin your life. Choice is yours, which type of life you want to live. Now just check also the color of your mind.

Jai Sri Krishna


  1. Beautiful. We need to improve our Mode and make it more

    Sattvik.Try to remember mantra--OM ANMO BHAGVATE VASUDEVAY--and choose appropriate color of what you wear.Thanks

  2. Jai jai shree krishna..thanks for sharing great thoughts...

  3. Krishnaya baasudevaya harey parmaatmane ,
    pranataha klesh naashaaya govindaya namo namah !