Sunday, November 01, 2009

Divine Grace Of God

God is all merciful. His Divine grace or Blessing or 'Kripa' (कृपा) happens on all creatures. Divine grace is of two types. First one is Normal mercy & second one is Special mercy. Normal mercy is the one which is happening on all creatures, equally by God. Like Sun is shining on all beings equally or God provides for the water, air & food etc. for all the creatures, irrespective of whether these creatures love Him or not. Say there are many people who do not like or believe in God & rather there are many people who abuse the God or say ill of Him but still God never stops providing sunshine, air, water, food etc. to such people. This is called God's Normal mercy.

Other than that is Special mercy of God. This type of mercy happens on God's devotees. Such special Divine grace on devotees in Hinduism is the central tenet of Bhakti Yoga and Bhakti movements. It is a key towards realizing the spiritual path of self-realization in which God embraces His devotee. When Special mercy of God happens on any person then God gives that person, whatever, that person is lacking in life & also protects his/her life & belongings. In fact that person is always protected in life by God. Such type of Special mercy of God only happens on a person who engages his/her mind always in thinking of God, becomes God's devotee, offers obeisance's to God and always worships the God. Being completely absorbed in God, surely that person becomes eligible for God's Special mercy.

That is the reason that Adi Shankaracharya composed his famous verse Bhaja Govindam in 8th century, where he declared:

"bhajagovindam bhajagovindam
govindam bhaja muudhamate
sampraapte sannihite kaale
nahi nahi rakshati dukrijnkarane"

Worship Govinda, Worship Govinda,
Worship Govinda. Oh fool!
Nothing else will save you
at the time of your death.

Similarly below verses of Bhagwat Gita explain that:

"samo ’ham sarva-bhutesu
na me dvesyo ’sti na priyah
ye bhajanti tu mam bhaktya
mayi te tesu chapy aham" (Bhagwat Gita: Chapter Nine verse 29)

"Sri Krishna said: I envy no one, nor am I partial to anyone. I am equal to all. But whoever renders service unto Me in devotion is a friend, is in Me, and I am also a friend to him."

"ananyas cintayanto mam
ye janah paryupasate
tesham nityabhiyuktanam
yoga-ksemam vahamy aham" (Bhagwat Gita: Chapter Nine verse 22)

"Sri Krishna said: But those who always worship Me with exclusive devotion, meditating on My transcendental form—to them I carry what they lack, and I preserve what they have."

"sarva-dharman parityajya
mam ekam saranam vraja
aham tvam sarva-papebhyo
mokshayisyami ma suchah" (Bhagwat Gita: Chapter Eighteen verse 66)

"Sri Krishna said: O Arjuna, Abandon all varieties of religion or Setting aside all meritorious deeds, just surrender unto Me. I shall liberate you from all sins. Do not fear."

No comments:

Post a Comment